Welcome, Please login or register.
Drum Solo Artist Logo

drum construction - Drum Solo Artist

October 20, 2020, 07:38:29 AM*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:

- Drum Related Ads
Pages: [1]
 Print 
Author Topic: drum construction  (Read 7999 times)
simon9

View Forum Profile
« on: December 17, 2007, 12:34:31 AM »

hello, im a year 12 student from australia undertaking a project of building a 5 peice acrylic drum kit for school. i have many questions but here are just a few.
(1) what kind of sound do acrylic shells make?
(2) drum lugs are very expensive, so is it possible to construct my own by drill and tapping a thread into a block of alumium, or simuliar material? 
(3) if not can sombody tell me were to get cheap lugs and drum heads from? dont care if they are second hand and rusty, they only have to work.
and finally (4) how strong does the join of the acrylic shell have to be? i am currently researching differnt joining techniques, and found that just melting the plastic together is not very strong. is there another way that will allow the drum shells to hold up against me and my brother both playing it.

thank you in advance.
simon.
KenSanders
Global Moderator

KenSanders

IBJAMN in Nashville

View Forum Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2007, 12:55:53 AM »

If you try to make acrylic shells yourself, I feel that you are taking on a task that requires very special equipment and knowledge.  The heat and molding issues, as well as the abillity to produce a strong, perfectly round shell is not an easy home shop project.

Acrylic shells are available from several drum shell suppliers now and I highly recommend those rather than spending a lot of money trying to duplicate what modern technology has struggled with developing.  That is just my opinion and it is not meant to offend you.