Welcome, Please login or register.
Drum Solo Artist Logo

Tips for a beginner??? - Drum Solo Artist

April 20, 2021, 09:00:15 AM*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:

- Drum Related Ads
Pages: [1]
 Print 
Author Topic: Tips for a beginner???  (Read 6113 times)
ForAllTid

Drum Forum Rules !

View Forum Profile
« on: November 04, 2006, 06:18:02 PM »

Hey all,

I've been a guitarist for the last 10 years, and i'm currently in a band called Gates of Winter (www.gatesofwinter.com). all our gear is set up in my basement, and so, it seemed almost natural that i grew attracted to the drum kit. So i bought my own set of sticks as to not destroy my drummers set and i learned a few very basic rock beats.

I now find myself in a position where i want to get a kit for myself, and slowly build at it, but first i'd like to get a few more things down before I start, i have a long ways to go of course, but i eventually want to have the speed and versitility of drummers such as Yanic Bercier (http://www.yanicbercier.com/).

In any case, some things that i really need help with include Double bass technique, high-hat work, and snare technique, and i'm sure there are probably many other vital things i dont even know of.

Thanks alot for your time, I cant use whatever help i can get!!!

Lee

Smelly_granny

I'll hit you with my rhythm stick

View Forum Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2006, 10:18:40 AM »

Rudiments, rudiments, timing, rudiments, Stick control, rudiments, rudiments etc.

A stick will do what you tell it to do. Drumming isnt really about drumming...its about being able to control sticks and pedals so they do what you want them to do at the right time. This will be done best by learning your stick technique correctly and then doing lovely rudiments to a metronome, and apply them to your beats. Rudiments between your hands, rudiments between your feet, rudiments between your left hand and your right foot etc.