Welcome, Please login or register.
Drum Solo Artist Logo

Confused With Cymbals... - Drum Solo Artist

November 22, 2019, 10:11:15 AM*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:

- Drum Related Ads
Pages: [1]
 Print 
Author Topic: Confused With Cymbals...  (Read 6185 times)
Ru1ner

Drum Forum Rules !

View Forum Profile
« on: June 28, 2006, 12:20:48 AM »

Well... namely the high-hat, but the others as well. I've had my drum set for a few years now. I started playing again back in October of 05', and I've now been playing for nearly a year straight. I've never really had too much of a problem with the positions of the cymbals, but more recently purchased some of the ones I didn't have. I now have a high-hat, crash, ride, splash, and china... But I'm kind of lost as to their positions. I'm not sure if there is an expected position they're supposed to be in, they seem to vary from set to set. So I just put mine the way I've seen most drum sets. And more recently, my friend discovered that most bands (such as in concert videos) have their high-hat about 6 or more inches higher than their snare. This completely surpised and annoyed me, because I've been playing with the high-hat only about 2 inches from the snare. The thought of playing with the high-hat that high up makes me think I might not be able to play as well... I've gotten uses to playing with it the way I had it. So does it really matter? Not just for the high-hat, but for the rest of the cymbals (as far as their height, and their lean towards you) what the position is? Is there a set and expected way for them to be? Or is it just how ever you feel comfortable playing? I generally play with most of the cymbals pretty low. None of them any lower than the toms, with the exception of the high-hat and the ride. That's another thing, I've seen rides proped way up, but I've also seen rides set down low towards the floor tom... I just don't see why some sets have the cymbals set so high up, especially the high-ha